If you’re a resident of the Palmetto State, get ready to move over because there’s a new law in town!
A new South Carolina law that requires drivers to ‘move right’ unless they are using the left lane to pass went into effect on August 15th this year. The law requires drivers to only use the far left lane on controlled access highways while they are passing or overtaking another vehicle.
South Carolina law enforcement will only issue warnings for the first 90 days after the effective date. What are the consequences when those 90 days are over you might wonder? This offense is considered a civil violation and punishable by a fine of up to $25. Additionally, no court costs may be assessed in addition to the fine. The South Carolina Department of Transportation will install new signs, ‘Slower Traffic Move Right’, along South Carolina roadways alerting motorists of this new law. SCDOT will also be reminding motorists of the new law using its overhead message boards.
Please take into consideration that there are still several exemptions for the new law, such as when traffic conditions and congestion make it impractical to drive in the right lane. For a full list of exemptions pertaining to this law and to learn more, visit: www.scstatehouse.gov